Happy 2012

The new year has arrived. 2012 is here. I am ready for the fresh start I actually feel like is happening this year. I am ready for things to get better. I am ready to do what it takes to make things better. My optimism is returning (unusual that it had disappeared, as I tend to be the eternal optimist if you speak to my friends).

New Year’s Eve was lovely though. My boyfriend worked until 8, and as we are housesitting for some friends, he stopped at their house to check things and take care of their cats, and then we met downtown, taking advantage of the free buses. From there we walked to Victoria Park to see what kind of festivities were taking place. They included some local teen bands and skating and free hot chocolate. We ourselves braved the lineup at William’s to get a real coffee and made it back in time to see the fireworks that were set off from City Hall. It was fun, if boring to some people. But my boyfriend and I are no means partiers anymore. We were quite content to just spend the time together and enjoy each other’s company. I am looking forward to the opportunity to do more things like that together as I really enjoyed the change in scenery. I am thinking that the evening bodes well for this new year.

Being in a cliche sort of mood, I have come up with a few New Year’s resolutions… (lame, I know):

1) finish reading all the book series I have started (currently at 3: A Song of Ice and Fire, the Earth’s Children, and the Hunger Games Trilogy – a total of 11 books, though I do hope to read more than that!)

2) continue on with my new health routine that has kind of fallen to the wayside during the holidays

3) find a (preferably) permanent job that I enjoy

4) cross-stitch up a storm! (and try some new more detailed charts)

I figure these resolutions aren’t too outrageous and I think I will enjoy them… aside from the actual looking for the job of course… that is a job in itself! But the end result will be worth it.

And so ends my first 2012 post. Again, Happy New Year!

🙂

Leave a Reply

