Busy Busy Busy!

As things have been since I got back from Edmonton, I have been crazy busy! If it’s not one thing it’s another. Which is fine as things are going okay in general. I had an interview on Thursday and I am 99.9% positive that I really shone. If I am lucky, I will get a call back this week. It’s for a position as a court reporter with a private firm. The only problem is hours are not guaranteed. But I figure that is something I will deal with when the time comes, if I even get offered the job. Fingers are crossed…at this point I figure a part-time job is better than no job. I am going pretty crazy being stuck at home pretty well all the time.

In all this time I have been spending at home, I have been thinking about my hobbies and the like. I have decided that I would really like to take up photography as a proper hobby like I have my cross-stitching and possibly my garden if all goes well. Jay went to school for photography, so I have a homegrown pro to teach me and help me along the way. I have a feeling there might be a bit of a learning curve but I am very excited. The very first thing he taught me was how to take a photo of lightning. We had an ideal night for it last week, as there was no rain while we were seeing these amazing lightning bolts. This is my attempt after he gave me a quick lesson. I am pretty proud of it!

More lightning

I ultimately want to get a DSLR camera, but that will have to wait as (obviously) I am unemployed and don’t have much money. At this point, I am learning on my Canon Powershot A720IS. It has a lot of manual features for a camera of its kind so it turns out it is ideal for me to learn the basics on, at least until I can afford to get my DSLR 🙂 In fact, it is the camera I used to take this lightning photo. Pretty good for a camera that cost me less than $200 easily four years ago. I already have my eye a particular DSLR but it will still be awhile before I can afford one. But it is still something to look forward to!

I have also made some progress in regards to preparation for my balcony garden. I now have a nice big pot for my tomato plant I will be attemping to grow as well as some window boxes. I still need to get some brackets so I can hang them off of my balcony railing, but that will come shortly. I also have a nice big bag of potting soil as well as packets of seeds for my herbs. I will be growing green onion, chives, sage, basil, parsley and oregano. I have my mom to thank for all the stuff as it was my birthday present this year.

Garden Prep

More garden prep

The herb garden selection

I am waiting to hear back from a friend as she has some gardening stuff she is looking to get rid of. She has some other goodies for me as well. Just waiting to make the plans to get it. I’m looking forward to being able to get this production on the road! And it really does feel like a production… there isn’t a single live plant (or even fake) in my home as I feel like I am a fail-gardener. This is definitely a first for me.

Through all this stuff… the interviews, the photography lessons, the garden prep… I haven’t had much time (or energy) to stitch at all. This is all I have accomplished on my current project in the last week.

Vintage Colt progress

It’s only some minor progress. Quite literally only 82 stitches 😦

I am hoping to get a lot more done this week. I finally have cleaning and similar things under control. This being the first time I have felt that they are since I got home from Edmonton over two weeks ago. I was just so overwhelmed. Now everything is back as it should be and I am a very happy girl. I am ready to enjoy some of my time stitching and practicing picture taking. Maybe I will even find those brackets I need for my window boxes this week 🙂

By the way, we have had this amazing gorgeous almost summer-like weather this past week. I’ve had to itch to get outside and really enjoy it! Hopefully I will be able to do some of that this week too.

3 thoughts on “Busy Busy Busy!

  1. Good luck with all your projects (as well as the job search!) Your first attempt at photography looks really well, you have an eye for it, keep it up. I look forward to seeing more.

    1. Thanks so much! I’m hoping that this stuff will keep me busy as time goes! It’s definitely helping to keep my attitude positive as well as keep me motivated in my job search (which is getting very frustrating).

Leave a Reply

