Dealing with the Stitching Blahs…

Stitching the Night Away Stitching Bloggers Blog Hop

Loretta over at Stitching the Night Away has started up a stitching bloggers blog hop and the first topic was the stitching blahs. She provided us with this lovely prompt to get us bloggers started:

Have you ever had a case of the “stitching blahs” where you just didn’t want to stitch? Or maybe it was more like you didn’t get to stitch because you were busy and that created a chain reaction sense of the “blahs” and led to even less stitching…. sort of like a case of “the Mondays” that we are all familiar with. How do you handle your stitching blahs and get back into stitching mode?

I am actually currently dealing with a case of the stitching blahs myself. It has been going on for the better part of the last month or so. I find that I keep saying that I want to stitch, keep thinking of ideas for smaller projects to start instead of working on my current big WIP. Unfortunately, I just never seem to have the energy or have the desire to get around to actually stitching right now. I’m not really sure why, but I think I can attribute it to the fact that I have been dealing with a fair amount of stress for the last several months. This sounds silly though, especially to me, because I find stitching so relaxing in itself. I guess it is more a matter of actually getting to the actual stitching.

I have been feeling like day-to-day life is currently getting in the way of my stitching and sometimes I just plain feel like there is no time to do it. I can honestly say I’m not sure how long this is going to last, but I sure hope it ends soon! I stare at my stash and my WIP every single day and just wish I had the urge to stitch and finish some more of that project I am working on! I guess that time will come. I am hoping it is soon. Maybe once I am working again. Yeah…that might be when it happens…

Visit all the blogs in this round of the Stitching the Night Away Stitching Blogger Blog Hop:
Find the instructions on how to participate in this round by clicking here.

7 thoughts on “Dealing with the Stitching Blahs…

  1. Hope you get a job soon! My husband is in the same boat as you, ‘cept he doesn’t stitch. 😉 I have read some of the other bloggers say they just do one thread a day and their mojo comes back. Maybe that’s what you need too.
    On a side note, I love your header photo! I went back and looked at Oyster Boys photo shoot and had a good giggle.

    1. Thanks! I love Oyster Boy… Big fan in general of Tim Burton’s tragic characters! Oyster Boy is only the first of many to come once I am working again. And thank you for the tip, I just may have to try that one thread a day idea!

  2. Oh no :-(* I’m sorry to hear you have the stitching blahs right now. I hope you get back into it again soon! I often find that shopping for new stash gets me back in the mood again!

  3. So sorry you are going thru the stitching blahs right now, stress can do that to a person. Hope you can find a job soon and that you will soon feel like getting back into your stitching.

  4. Good luck fighting through those stitching blahs, I know the feeling. real life can fill up with obligations so quickly…if only there was a real life pause button.

Leave a Reply

