Good News and Stitching Progress Too

I have some BIG news! I have found a full-time job and I start tomorrow morning! I am so excited and so relieved. Talk about getting down to the wire. I found out I got the job the day before I would have had to give up my place. Luckily, now I get to stay in my home AND I get to work. I have a feeling this is going to be the beginning of some good things happening around here. The best part of all of this for me is the fact that in the end I still managed to accomplish the original goal I set out for myself initially in this job search. I am working at a local insurance broker, and they hired me with the intention of me learning and growing with the company. It’s a CAREER folks! I am so happy. Just wait…6 months from now I will hate my job. But…at least I will have one.

Moving on!

I finally got a finish framed for the very first time.

Who-Hoo? Me Too? Framed
Who-Hoo? Me Too? Framed

I framed up Who-Hoo? Me Too? yesterday afternoon. I decided that I loved it so much that I couldn’t part with it! It is now on display in my living room right where you see it in the photo. I think it looks great, and everyone else seems to agree as well. I have another finish I want to have framed, but I think it is going to need a custom frame. I hope that maybe I might be able to whip something up for it in the near future.

I have moved on to a new stitching project as well. It’s a great little work in progress that I am really loving right now. It is the Pixel People – Firefly pattern from weelittlestitches on Etsy. It’s a great and relatively simple pattern that I am just having way too much fun stitching. It is already looking amazing. I am stitching this up for a friend of mine who is currently living and working in Japan. She introduced my to Firefly and Serenity when we were roommates in school. I will be forever in her debt for that, and I thought this would be a great way to pay homage to that fact and also let her know that I am still thinking of her even though we graduated three years ago and haven’t really seen each other since. I have finished Mal and also Inara since this photo was taken. Zoe is now in the works!

Pixel People - Serenity's Crew
Pixel People – Firefly – Serenity’s Crew

The weelittlestitches Etsy shop has a ton of amazing patterns and it has to be one of my very favourite pattern shops out there. This is the first pattern I purchased from the shop and it definitely won’t be that last! There is also a weelittlestitches blog, and you can check it out here.

We have had a fair bit of rain over the last few days around here, and my little garden has taken a bit of a beating as a result. Everything is fine but it just doesn’t look quite as pretty as it did before. I am happy though, it does save me from watering for a few days. I am hoping I can finally buy my tomato sometime in the coming week since we don’t have to worry about moving now. Then the garden will be in full swing finally. Unfortunately though, I need to replant my sage as nothing is coming up yet while everything else is doing so well.

Since I haven’t had much to do with the garden thanks to the rain, I decided to do a little bit of organizing of the garden stuff I keep indoors. Since I started the garden back in March, everything (seeds, twine, etc.) has been kind of strewn across my window sill in my living room. I got sick of it just laying there all a mess so I decided to fix it. I spent a dollar on a sheet of bristol board and made myself a little box.

Garden Supply Organizer
Garden Supply Organizer

It was a simple little box that took all of five minutes to make and it makes all the difference in the world. A little bit of organization makes me happy!

All-in-all, things have been going great, as I mentioned before I think this is all the beginning of something really great. Everything is starting to fall into place again. Life is good.

4 thoughts on “Good News and Stitching Progress Too

  1. So excited for you about the job! That’s wonderful news! And your xstitch looks great. I just love the pixel people.

    1. I can’t wait to get more pixel people patterns! I have my eye on Harry Potter or maybe a Star Trek one next.

  2. Congratulations on the job! I absolutely love your cross stitch projects. I’m a huge Firefly fan so I love your weepeople project:)

Leave a Reply

