Stereotypes and Assumptions Related to Cross-Stitching

Stitching the Night Away Stitching Bloggers Blog Hop

It’s the 15th of the month, and guess what that means! It’s time for a blog hop post! We are onto post number four this time around and I have to admit I am quite enjoying this. Anyways, the prompt for this post:

Do you experience this same assumption from society in general that just because you’re being crafty you’re also driven by some unseen force to be in constant 1950s housewife mode? and then…. Who actually does the cooking and the cleaning in the household? I’d also really like to hear some words from the men in the crowd who stitch on this topic. What sort of societal reactions do you get and what ridiculously wrong assumptions do people make towards you when they see you working on needlework?

I have to admit that I have not really experienced this assumption. No one who knows that I cross-stitch has ever assumed that I am “driven by some unseen force to be in constant 1950s housewife mode.” In my house, cooking and cleaning are done by both of us and it is just about an even split as to who does how much. I am quite thankful for this. I have been very lucky to encounter people in my life who think it is quite interesting that I cross-stitch, and pepper me with questions — mainly about why I like it and what go me started on it as a hobby and not to ask if I play Holly Housewife as well. .

The assumption I encounter most is that needlework and cross-stitching are for “old people.” I politely explain to these people that it’s not simply something for old people, specifically women to do. I always share that there are people my age and even younger that do it and enjoy it quite a bit. I like helping people to realize that cross-stitching is for just about anyone who is willing to try it. I have gotten some friends of mine to try it, and my boyfriend has even given it a shot!

I also use my blog to try and help people to get past the assumptions and stereotypes that are related to needlework (in a somewhat subtle fashion). I like to show that there are patterns out there for everyone and every interest, not just flowers and whatnot. I am always on the lookout for things that would appeal to all sorts of people. I have stitched several pieces as gifts for friends and family and I haven’t had anyone dislike what I have made yet!The more I learn and know where to look the easier this gets, and the easier it is for me to shoot down stereotypes and assumptions!

Visit all the blogs in this round of the Stitching the Night Away Stitching Blogger Blog Hop:
Find the instructions on how to participate in this round by clicking here.

5 thoughts on “Stereotypes and Assumptions Related to Cross-Stitching

  1. Oh, yes… the old people assumption. And while reading this, I remembered that people often tell me when seeing me stitching that I am so patient… something I am not, just ask my daughter.

Leave a Reply

