Stitching Rituals!

Stitching the Night Away Stitching Bloggers Blog Hop

My how time flies. I can’t believe it is the 15th already! Time for post # 6 in the Stitching Bloggers Blog Hop hosted by Stitching the Night Away.

The prompt for # 6:

Some of us have a favorite chair that we sit in to stitch, others prefer to enjoy a steaming mug of tea while they stitch. Maybe you need to get comfortable and put on your pajamas before you pick up your needle or you simply must rearrange all the sofa pillows before you sit down. Sometimes the ritual is in the clean up when we’re done and everything must go in a certain place. What sort of stitching rituals do you have when you sit down to work on your projects?

****

I very much have a ritual each and every time I stitch. I always sit in the same spot on my couch, all my supplies are always in the same place as well my the current chart. I ALWAYS have a fresh hot cup of coffee or tea at my side and a show or movie on in the background to listen to while I am stitching. It is the same every single time and I actually have great difficulty sitting down to stitch when there is a departure from the routine or ritual – be it that I am in a different place or an aspect of the above-mentioned is missing.

I have the most trouble with stitching when I am away from home. I always take my supplies with the intention to stitch, but I can never get comfortable enough to stitch in the truck or while in a waiting room or some such. I find when I go away from home I have better luck with a book because I am so set in my routine when it comes to my stitching. To some this may seem silly, but it’s very much real for me.

My rituals I think are what make stitching so therapeutic for me. It is one of the very few things that is always the same in this crazy and hectic thing I call my life.

Visit all the blogs in this round of the Stitching the Night Away Stitching Blogger Blog Hop:
Find the instructions on how to participate in this round by clicking here.

5 thoughts on “Stitching Rituals!

  1. I’m definitely seeing a pattern of tea and coffee in a lot of the stitching rituals. I think I need to add a brewed beverages section to the STNA website -lol- I’m really enjoying this little peek into everyone’s rituals!

Leave a Reply

