A Garden Update and Some News on the Home Front

It has been about two weeks (maybe even more) since I posted an update on the garden out on the balcony. Seems that it is about time to share again as things have really changed. One thing I have found about having a garden, even my small container garden, is that everything changes SO fast. It’s exciting and disconcerting at the same time. And by no means is any of it bad! There are just some days where I go out onto the balcony to water or do some other garden-related task and I realize that so much has changed in the short time between then and the last time I was out there (which is generally daily, by the way).

I looked back at my previous post about the garden and I am just wowed by the growth and progress that has been made. I guess it is your turn!

Basil
Basil – quickly catching up to the one that was gifted to me from a friend!

The basil has really shot up in the last couple of weeks. It has gone from about four leaves on a tiny stalk to this! We have been harvesting basil leaves from the one you can see behind it just looking forward to having more because the fresh basil just tastes amazing! I am so glad that we ended up with two plants and not just the one. We have made some pretty amazing pasta sauces since we starting harvesting the basil; and I’m not a huge pasta fan.

New Crop of Green Onions
New Crop of Green Onions – 2nd planter
New Crop of Green Onions
New Crop of Green Onions – 3rd planter

The green onions have been such a hit that I had to start two new planters worth. As a result, we should have green onions to use well into the fall!

Green Onions
Green Onions – 1st (and original) planter

We have already started harvesting the original planting of green onions. They are close to have gone already! They have been absolutely amazing for throwing into salads and the like. I forgot how much I like green onions.

Parsley, Basil and More Green Onion
Parsley (front) – Holding its own

Parsley is really holding its own as well. I am excited to start harvesting that too. Soon! Will be adding this to our pasta sauces along with the basil!

Sage
Sage – It’s a little top-heavy. We had to help it out a bit.

My second attempt at sage has become a raging success. I thought it was kind of funny that it wouldn’t stand up straight on its own – I decided to help it out a bit by sticking in a couple of 6 inch bamboo skewers and use to twine. It is working rather well and looks fun/weird at the same time. 🙂 It’s not quite ready, but I am looking forward to using some fresh sage in recipes as well.

Lettuce
Lettuce – Looking a little oddly tall

The lettuce has been growing great, but it is looking a little funny itself. It never did form into heads and has just stayed leafy. The stalks keep getting taller and taller. I’m not concerned though because it is making some great salads for us and still tastes great.

Chives
Chives – Looking as they should

The chives are finally looking like I always thought chives should look. I had to talk Jay into not eating them long enough for me to get a photo. I am sure they will be about an inch tall again before the weekend is out!

Pansies
Pansies – Finally getting somewhere!

I am very happy that the pansies finally seem to be growing. If we are lucky, we may just get to see some flowers before the end of the season. I was just about ready to give up on them, but at this point I am glad I didn’t. Unlike my oregano… I have officially given up on that. The one shoot that did show up and stay for awhile after the second planting attempt actually looks like it has been eaten up by something though I don’t have much of a problem with bugs at all. I’m not super upset because everything else has done so well, but it is still just a slight disappointment. Maybe I will have better luck next year.

And now… the piece de resistance of this year’s garden (for me)…

Our tomato plant!

Tomatoes
Tomatoes

I am very excited to see that we have fruit on our tomato plant considering we planted it so late. We have four tomatoes so far, and it looks like there will be more as well! Jay is very excited to start eating them. I, on the other hand, won’t be eating them but I am very excited that our tomato has done so well this year. I am excited that our entire garden has done as well as it has. Not too shabby for a first attempt!

****

I do have a little bit of news to share that is not garden related, but it is exciting news indeed! A week or so ago, on Friday the 13th of all days, Jay and I got engaged! Whoever said it was a day for bad things to happen doesn’t live my life. I have yet to have a “bad” Friday the 13th! No plans for a wedding date though as we know it won’t be possible for quite a long time yet. Something I am okay with though!

Life is good! 🙂

3 thoughts on “A Garden Update and Some News on the Home Front

  1. I don’t like tomatoes either, but try a small piece and see what you think, it’s amazing the satisfaction of home grown and the difference in taste! My cucumber was sweet unlike the Ones at the store. The smell was sooo strong and fresh.. Makes your mouth water 🙂

  2. Congratulations on the engagement! I got engaged just over a year ago and we haven’t set a date either – waiting until we’ve saved a bit of money. I have a patio garden as well, plenty of herbs, tomatoes, and today I harvested our first red chilli. It’s amazing that something so small can make my day, but it can. Your patio looks amazing, I’m thinking I might start some onions myself.

    Also, friday 13th was my hamster’s birthday (hehe!) so I completely agree that it’s not unlucky.

Leave a Reply

