Been A Long Time…

It’s been quite a while since I have actually posted. I have neglected the blog a bit lately but I have been focusing on a few other things lately. I have been reading quite a bit lately as well as stitching and it seems that I have forgotten to post any of my progress, even though there has been a fair bit of it in the few weeks.

I have about four different books on the go right now and they are definitely keeping me on my toes. It’s a lot harder than it used to be to keep so many books on the go and keep the stories straight. I guess I am a little bit out of practice. I haven’t read like this in quite a while… years, even. Anyways, I guess I will share what I am reading and what I think of the books so far. Here we go… :

  1. A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin – This is book 5 in the A Song of Ice and Fire series. I am completely hooked on this series and am sad that I will have to wait at least another year or so before book 6 in the series will be released.
  2. The Plains of Passage by Jean M. Auel – This is book 4 in the Earth’s Children series. I read this series up to this point about 10 years ago, and two more books were recently released in the series so I decided to revisit it. Good books generally with interesting subject matter.
  3. Wicked by Gregory Maguire – I read this one once years ago after having inadvertently read the 2nd book in the series first. I decided to revisit this one as well as I find it to be an interesting twist on the story of the Wizard of Oz. I also hope to read the recently released book 4 once I am done the three I already own.
  4. The Picture of Dorian Gray  by Oscar Wilde – One classic I haven’t read before. I am familiar with the story and thought it would be interesting to finally read the book in its entirety. Bit slower reading this one, but so far so good.

Along with all the reading I have been doing, I have also been keeping myself busy with stitching and other things related. The weekend before this was the Labour Day long weekend here in Canada, and I used that time to get a little stitchy and to also tie up some loose ends on some long finished projects that were just sitting around. I have to admit it was quite a productive weekend in that regard. I also was able to hang out with a good friend I hadn’t seen in quite awhile.

Moving on to sharing the productivity of the weekend! I finished the Valentine Heart back right February (You can see it here). Since then it has been sitting around my apartment folded up not really doing anything. Over the weekend I decided it was high time it was framed and an official place be found for it. I pulled it out, washed it and ironed it again and found a cute frame laying around the apartment to put it in.

An old project finally framed.
Valentine Heart – An old project finally framed.

I have to admit, I wasn’t too sure about the silver frame at first, but I think it really works. It is currently on display in my living room, but I would like to see it hung in the bathroom eventually. It has all the right colours to look amazing in there!

I find sometimes that regular weekends at home feel long enough, and that the long holiday weekends can just be brutal since I spend so many of them at home doing nothing in particular. Unfortunately, my work hours and Jay’s hours still don’t mesh. We are hoping that they will one day. However, this past weekend was quite nice as I was able to keep myself busy with a whole bunch of little projects, including framing the piece above. Next, I decided that because I currently have so many books on the go and feel like that won’t be changing anytime soon that I could use another bookmark.

I found a bookmark pattern in my pattern stash that I modified a but to make it slightly more compact (slightly narrower and about 2/3 as long). It was a great pattern because I was able to choose my own fabric and colours. I went with a more muted colour palette than I usually might, but I am really happy with the way it turned out. It was a very quick stitch and only took an evening and a little over an hour the next day to finish.

A quick little bookmark
A quick little bookmark

I am already putting it to good use too – marking my place in Wicked!

On August 23 my friend finally had her baby boy so I also spent a chunk of the weekend working on his birth announcement. I never did get it done last weekend due to some missing information, but I finished everything up to the said missing information. I wasn’t sure about how it was turning out initially with the colours I chose for the lettering, but as it turns out it was looking pretty good when I left off of it last weekend.

I was able to actually finish the birth announcement yesterday, filling in the information I was missing. It has turned out great, and I am looking forward to getting it to its new owners.

Birth Announcement completed!
Birth Announcement completed!

It has even gotten the stamp of approval from mom and dad! They are excited to have this as a keepsake for their little boy.

Detail of the birth announcement
Showing some of the detail in the announcement. A little rough around the edges, but it still looks pretty good!

I am looking forward to getting this to them hopefully sometime this week. I had originally hoped it would be this weekend, but I have been feeling under the weather since about Wednesday and figured it would be a bad idea to head over there when I’m not feeling well.  I’m not particularly in the mood to be getting a little baby sick. No one would enjoy that. Luckily I feel like I am finally starting to recover today. I am sure I have Jay to thank for it for taking such good care of me when he was home this week. Yesterday was rough, but there were a couple of highlights. They included finishing the birth announcement and this:

Double Rainbow
Double Rainbow

It was pretty phenomenal seeing this yesterday considering how I have been feeling. It really picked up my spirits. Not to mention… SO INTENSE!!

One thought on “Been A Long Time…

Leave a Reply

