An Eventful Week – Including a Finish!

Well, it has definitely been a very busy and very eventful week around here. I am finally getting a breather and a chance to settle down to write about it all.

It all started last Monday. A regular old day at work, but that night was a night to look forward to! Jay took me to see Metric live at Budweiser Gardens. He had bought the tickets for me back in September and I had been looking forward to it ever since. They are one of my favourite bands, and I had tickets about 3 years ago to see them but I had to give those up to travel for work on short notice. This was the first time they have been back in the area since then and I am so glad I didn’t miss it again this time. It was a phenomenal show and definitely a highlight in this past year. I enjoyed every second of it including the openers: Stars. Both are great Canadian bands. If you are looking for great indie rock bands, both Stars and Metric are bands you should be checking out!

This week also included a trip to the dentist (ick) where I found out that my wisdom teeth need to come out, and a hair appointment for a MUCH needed haircut. Would you believe it has been a year since I have had one! It felt amazing having my hair cut back to a manageable length and it was ever better getting my bangs back. I love my hair again!

Throughout this very busy week I was also able to complete a project. Here it is, the finished Green Bay Packers coaster!

Green Bay Packers Coaster
Green Bay Packers Coaster

I am a lot happier with the way it turned out than I initially thought I would be. I still absolutely will not buy Davosa again. So many of the stitches just look wrong. Luckily it’s not overly noticeable except to me, and Jay loves it. I guess that’s the most important part, isn’t it? I also made some minor progress on my snowflake ornament but (go me!) I forgot to take pictures of said progress. I promise I will remember next time! It’s looking great, and aside from the DMC Light Effects being a bit of a pain to work with it is going quite smoothly compared to the coaster. Planning on working on it some more while Jay watches the Grey Cup.

Today I spent the afternoon Christmas shopping. It feels a little early, but for some reason I am feeling a lot more festive this year than I have in past years. Our Christmas tree is up and so are our stockings. We even have our first gift under the tree! I am super excited this year! I can’t wait to share more of what I am stitching and what we are doing through the holidays this year.

Leave a Reply

