Biggest Stitching Accomplishment in 2012

Stitching the Night Away Stitching Bloggers Blog Hop

Ringing in 2013 with a new post for the blog hop!

Prompt for post # 14:

What was your biggest stitching accomplishment in 2012? 
What was your favorite stash acquisition in 2012 and will you be using it in 2013?

****

I didn’t do as much stitching in 2012 as I would have liked, but I have to admit there were definitely some accomplishments. One of these was learning how to stitch with DMC Light Effects. I learned that Light Effects is a total pain to work with, but the end result is pretty amazing! That though, was not my biggest stitching accomplishment of the year.

My biggest stitching accomplishment of the year was having the back of my stitching look almost as good as the front for at least one of my completions this year. It happened back in May, and I was so excited that I posted about it. You can read it here. This was a much bigger deal for me than I thought it would ever be, because I had struggled with it with previous projects and had read on many a forum how difficult it was to actually accomplish. It made for a very happy girl here.

My favourite stash acquisition of 2012 would have to be the multitudes of new floss that I received courtesy of my mom and Jay through the month of December. As I have many a project on the list to start and to work on, I have no doubt I will be using it in 2013!

Visit all the blogs in this round of the Stitching the Night Away Stitching Blogger Blog Hop:
Find the instructions on how to participate in this round by clicking here.

6 thoughts on “Biggest Stitching Accomplishment in 2012

  1. I try really hard not to worry about what the backs of my projects look like, but I do find myself flipping it over and checking it out pretty often. I’ve never managed to get a “perfect” back, but some projects have definitely come out more tidy on the reverse than others.

  2. I love your owl, and I try to never worry about what the back looks like, but then I spend a ton of time pulling out knots, etc. It’s apparently just what we do, right?

  3. I remember what it felt like when I gave a project away and the recipient couldn’t tell the back from the front. The JOY! Oh the satisfaction! I hadn’t even tried! the recipient didn’t even know what that meant to me as a stitcher. Since then I have revisited some projects and the back looks just like a war zone and I am just as happy with the finished product. War zone, knots whatever. Accomplishing a finished project is all that matters.

  4. My projects start out so PERFECT on the back but soon all hope is lost and I am like, “screw it!”. Someday I will get it down. Another new year to try it, right?!

  5. I give up having the perfect back. I must admit its better than it use to be but far from me wanting to show it off. Good Work on getting your backs so good.

Leave a Reply

