In a Rut…?

I think the blog has hit a rut. I feel like it has become very repetitive and I need to consider potentially taking a different approach to things. I need to think about what may have led to this happening. I think I may have hit a rut myself. The question is what approach do I take to try and remedy this situation. I wonder if my blog is simply reflecting the “winter blues” I am dealing with myself… I still want to share my hobbies and the like, but I feel like I am posting the exact same posts every time only with different projects. I think I would just like to be able to share my hobbies and specifically my stitching progress in new and interesting ways.

Part of the problem it seems to me is that I can’t write. Or I feel at least that I lack the creativity to write something interesting. Maybe this is just the winter blues talking, but I have always been able to write an excellent technical paper full of facts, but as soon as I am asked to “be creative” I fail miserably. The result is always boring, lacking wit and originality – at least in my eyes. I wonder if lessons in writing would help, but at the same time I highly doubt something like that would help my personal struggle with creativity or the lack thereof.

I am thinking that the beginnings of trying to get out of this rut will be to try some different post formats in an attempt to change things up and make the blog a little more interesting.  I realized this week too that I have already failed at one of the resolutions I set for myself and the blog this year: resurrecting the ‘Finishes Around the House’ series. It is as of now going to become more of an occasional blog series as at this point I am running out of finishes to share. I think there are a few left and I would like to make those last until the next finish comes along that stays in the house… It will have to go on hiatus for awhile for this reason. It may be easier that way.

Over the past thirteen months Pin Cushions and Reflections has become something I am proud of and hope to continue with for a long time to come. I just don’t want it to become stale with the same old posts happening all the time. It is a fear of mine. That being said, I would appreciate any suggestions to keep this from happening. Comments are appreciated on this matter!

On another note, Pin Cushions and Reflections  now has its very own Facebook page. If you are so inclined, please feel free to look it up and like the page!

One thought on “In a Rut…?

  1. I know what you mean about being in a blog rut. Sometimes its hard to think of things to write. I feel like I don’t have nearly as many interesting things to say when I want to blog. It’s tough. But I always enjoy reading what you have to say! Hope those winter blues get kicked soon. I’m ready for spring to get here.

Leave a Reply

