Off the Shelf – Currently Reading

I have been keeping myself busy lately and haven’t had much of chance to share with you what I have pulled off the shelf and am reading in my free time.  I have had several books on the go lately, and I actually finished one of them just a few days ago. That leaves just three books on the go.A Hologram for the King

The book I finished most recently was one called ‘A Hologram for the King’ by Dave Eggers. I read the e-book using the Overdrive Media app on my phone to borrow it from my local library. It’s actually a really neat concept and it is only the second time I have used it. I read this one due to an indirect book recommendation from a friend and I think I am glad I did. It was a departure from the books I can normally be found reading, but I enjoyed it. It had some interesting commentary on the state of the economy and the effects it can have a on a person. I recommend it to anyone who is looking for something new to read. It has opened my eyes to the fact that there is a lot more out there than the standard genres I tend to read.The writing itself isn’t amazing, but it is written in such a way to keep you wanting more.

Two of the books I am currently reading are books that I am reading for a second time. I am reading ‘The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo’ in proper book form (I read it as an e-book the first time around) and ‘A Game of Thrones’ which is a personal favourite of mine. The fact that I am reading both for a second time should attest to what I think about them!

game of thrones TheGirlWithTheDragonTattooLast, but not least (well maybe… Just kidding!) I am reading a book that is actually a collection of short stories about a particular fictional town by Stephen Leacock called ‘Sunshine Sketches of a Little Town.’ It an e-book on my Kobo app (again, on my phone). I haven’t been reading it quite as fast as I am reading some others and it is honestly for reasons unknown. I have enjoyed what I have read of it so far. I am determined to finish it soon though.

sunshine sketches

I have the next couple of books I am planning to read lined up and am looking forward to sharing those as well when the time comes!

Leave a Reply

