Planning for the Garden – Round 2

We are in the depths of winter right now, and I am finding myself really missing the sun and the greenery of spring and summer. I am itching to get outside and do things but the snow is very much limiting what I can do…

While I am sitting here wishing for spring, I figured why not start working on plans for the garden this year?! I am a little limited in that the set up at home doesn’t much allow for starting any seeds indoors, but I can be prepared for when planting outdoors can begin. I love that I can have my very own bit of greenery on my balcony.

This year I am going to use the lessons I learned this season past and make some improvements. First being I am only going to grow what I know we will use and enjoy. Second, I am going to water enough, and third I will keep my lettuce out of full sunlight. These are what killed my tomato plant and cut my lettuce growing short last year. That all being said this year I have decided I will be growing:

  1. pansies (for decoration, also they’re edible!)
  2. tomatoes
  3. green onion
  4. lettuce
  5. basil
  6. oregano
  7. parsley
  8. chives

I am actually planting a bit less than last year as I felt that I had bit off a little more than I could chew the first time around. Last year I also grew some herbs that I never ended up using and it felt like a bit of a waste. That will hopefully be avoided this year, thanks to that first “improvement” I mentioned earlier. I can’t wait to have some fresh vegetables again! This year I have even gone so far as to draw a diagram or two of how things are going to be set up on the balcony for this year. May as well be thorough and know exactly how things are going to fit and where!

Garden 2013

It is nice this year, because I already have all of my seeds. All I will have to purchase is soil. I have a gift card to a home improvement store around here and plan to use that to buy my soil, and maybe some new solar lights for the balcony. It’s going to look good this year!

I have thought it through and think that the only thing I may attempt to start indoors this year will be my pansies – only because last year they didn’t bloom until much later in the season than I had expected. I am hoping that by starting them early will potentially avoid it again this year. I want to enjoy the blooms for longer than I was able to last year.

I think I have everything pretty well in order for the 2013 growing season. I’m looking forward to getting my hands dirty!

 

2 thoughts on “Planning for the Garden – Round 2

Leave a Reply

