Planting Day!

Sunday was the day I have been waiting for for a very long time (as you well know). It was planting day in the household! Well actually, it was a get a lot of things done around the apartment in general day. But that may be a post for another day…

The day started out beautifully and I had high hopes that we would be able to enjoy the day outdoors on the balcony. Alas, that was not the case. I got started relatively early in the morning when the weather was still nice, and managed to get a pot of romaine lettuce planted as well as two window planters of green onions, and a pot each of parsley, basil, chives, sage and oregano. I was going to plant three window planters of green onions, but somehow one of the three I had has disappeared. I have no idea where it went. I wonder if somehow it blew off the balcony during the stormy weather we had a few weeks back. Regardless, I am sure I will never see it again. Needless to say, we went out and bought ourselves a new one. I had intentions of sowing the third planter but while we were out the weather kind of went south and the rain began.

Planter #3 will have to wait until probably this weekend for its onions, but that’s okay. The majority of my crop is finally planted and I am content. Butter Crunch lettuce and the tomato will wait until a bit later, likely the long holiday weekend in May.

I have a few photos from planting day, though they obviously aren’t all that exciting – just a bunch of dirt in pots. Regardless, here they are:

Labels
Labels all ready to go!

Romaine Lettuce
Romaine Lettuce
Onions
Green Onions
Onions, Chives, Parsley
Green Onions, Chives and Parsley
Sage, Oregano, Basil
Sage, Oregano and Basil
Table Set Up
Our outdoor table setup – tea mug pansy, hurricane lantern and outdoor radio

Because the weather did turn for the worse, we did also get a lot of other things done indoors – some spring cleaning if you will, as well as fixing up some issues that cropped up over the winter. It felt great to get those things out of the way too.

Spring is under way, folks!

One thought on “Planting Day!

Leave a Reply

