I Want to Write

I am feeling the urge to write something awesome. However, I can never think of anything to write about that falls into this category. I am constantly reading fantastic material written by other bloggers and it inspires me every time. But every time I sit down to write that ‘awesome’ piece, my mind just draws a blank and I’m stuck. I feel like none of my ideas are original enough  to interest the public or to attract more readers to my own blog.

pen_and_paper

I always have millions of ideas in my head and I can never seem to get them all down on paper, let alone a computer screen. It is frustrating to me. I feel like I will never be able to write something people will want to read. This is a problem since I have wanted to write something of substance for years. Obviously, it still hasn’t happened.

In school I was able to churn out A-grade papers like it was nobody’s business. Unfortunately all of them were research papers and did absolutely nothing to foster writing creatively or anything of a remotely creative nature – except maybe the research topic itself. I did have a knack for those at least.  But still not conducive to creativity in writing. As a result, the same though goes through my head every time I sit down in an attempt to write:

I am not a creative person.

At least I don’t FEEL like a creative person… No doubt someone has already written or created what I am just coming up with. So what good is it? It isn’t original. It isn’t interesting. At least not in my own head… I want to be creative. I want my material to be interesting to people. I want people to WANT to read what I write. Would I want to read what I write? Probably not. And this is where my dilemma stands. I am at a loss.

I think this may be something I struggle with for a long time – wanting to write something but feeling like I will never be able to make it happen. The urge to write that defining piece will likely never go away. I sometimes wonder if it is something as simple (relatively speaking) as a confidence issue. Do I feel this way because I don’t think I am confident enough in myself? Could be. Will I really know for sure? Likely not. And the writing dilemma continues…

I have a blog I write for (obviously, since this post is currently appearing on it). The problem for me is that I feel like none of it is really anything of substance. It feels shallow and superficial to me. Maybe people enjoy it, but I’m not completely convinced it is truly meaningful to anyone but myself, and then, only because it is my own hobbies that I write about.

I even struggled with writing this post. It has taken me months to finally get this out there. Kudos to me, I guess…

10 thoughts on “I Want to Write

  1. Dude, don’t be so hard on yourself. Write about what kind of day you had yesterday, a comment you overheard in a restaurant or particularly clever thought you had at lunch. The oddest things will inspire you.

    1. Thanks for those ideas. You’re right, I probably shouldn’t be so hard on myself. Creature of habit here, I suppose.

  2. Kudos is definitely to be given to you. It is very hard to put yourself out there for others to view. I struggle with the same thing. All through school I was taught how to research and write based on that while other classmates were taught how to be creative when writing. I sometimes (ok most of the time) wonder if taking those higher level courses did me more harm than good. Thank you for sharing yourself with us. I for one am very interested in what you have to say and in how you say it.

    1. Thank you! I appreciate it. And I’m glad I’m not the only one that wonders if school did me more harm than good creatively!

  3. Just write.
    Don’t critique. Don’t judge. Don’t think of anyone else but yourself.
    Your creative in ways that seem too practical. Good with words and problem solving. Just let whatever comes to mind come out on paper or text. You will never know what you are able to accomplish if you are your biggest judge.
    Do you know how many pieces of paper I crumbled up?
    How many pencils have been wasted to just lines being drawn in a page for no eyes to ever see? Don’t think about it just keep a pad of paper nearby and scribble anything down when it appears.
    Instead of “we went to the comic book store” … We walk through hordes of people, slightly making our way through to see the semi glossy pages of amateur writers and illustrators ideas shoved into pages for unsuspecting youths and youths-at-heart to open up and dive into another realm”

    1. I think you are mixing up good with words with good with spelling and grammar. But yes, I see what you mean. I am my own biggest critic. I need to not be so hard on myself.

  4. I really think you should start a creative writing exercise. The number one thing would be to NOT CRITICIZE what you’ve written and just let it flow. Over time it will refine itself.
    Small stories or tales.
    Whatever is stuck in your head – use this as scratches on the page and write for only yourself not for others to enjoy, I think writing for others is your struggle honestly. Write for yourself, I know it’s in you.

Leave a Reply

