The Byron Freehouse

A week ago Sunday my Grandma and I got together for our traditional birthday lunch. Every year she takes me out for lunch on my birthday. We visit and talk; generally enjoying each other’s company for the afternoon. My Grandma’s birthday is actually less than a week after mine, so it is a bit of a treat for both of us. This lunch doesn’t always happen near our birthdays, but it always happens eventually. A couple of years back it didn’t happen until June, but that was okay. It is always a great opportunity to spend time with her, no matter when it happens.

Last year, we went to a restaurant she had never been to before and she really enjoyed it. She always has me choose where we go, so this year I decided we would try another new place since last year was such a success. I chose a smaller local restaurant called the Byron Freehouse.

wpid-wp-1427372345332.jpeg

The Byron Freehouse isn’t far from where I live. It is located in Byron, a suburb of London, on the “main drag”. It’s not a big place, and it has a nice laid back atmosphere. It almost has the feel of a bar and grill, but not quite. It still feels a bit more like a restaurant. Their colour choices of teal and red for the decor are fun, and really add to the atmosphere. We had a good first impression upon arriving. We arrived around 1:30pm and were seated right away. Menus were provided and our drink orders taken moments later. The choice on the menu was varied, but not too large. Grandma and I both had trouble choosing just one option from the menu. After some discussion, we settled on some deep-fried pickles to start, a beef and swiss sandwich with fries for Grandma, and a southern fried chicken sandwich with fries for me. We received our food in a very timely fashion and it was piping hot. Our server was very on top of things. We had no complaints about the service whatsoever.

The food itself was excellent and the portion sizes were generous. The deep-fried pickles were crispy but not overdone. My sandwich was flavourful and the lettuce and onion on it were fresh and crisp. The fries were seasoned just right. Grandma was equally happy with her own meal. I would go back again and try something else on the menu for sure. Grandma agrees. We both left the Byron Freehouse full and very satisfied. I am looking forward to our next lunch date.

The added bonus to this fun day with my Grandma is that it allowed me to start working on another item on my 30 Before 30 list: one local restaurant down, two more to go! It has become so exciting to cross new things off the list. So far, this list has been an excellent idea.

One thought on “The Byron Freehouse

Leave a Reply

