Holiday Spirit… And A Blogiversary

I wanted to write a post this week about the holidays but it is proving to be very difficult. The weather is nothing like winter and as a result, not very “Christmasy”. The temperature outside has been well above zero for almost all of December and what little snow we’ve had disappeared almost as soon as it arrived. Things are a bit drab, and the holiday spirit seems to be lacking in many people. Unfortunately, this seems to be translating to me as well. I usually get pretty excited about Christmas and actively participate in local and family holiday festivities with great fervour. This year, not so much. I am finding it difficult to get excited about Christmas itself, even though I am very much looking forward to participating in our family’s traditional Christmas Eve gathering for the first time in many years. This year things are just “meh”. Things in other areas of daily life have been difficult and frustrating as well, so I think that has a bearing on things as well.

I have a wonderful friend though who has helped to try to liven the Christmas spirit in theimg_1888  Lindsay/Tobi household here and we are thankful for it because it has definitely helped.  She and her husband sent me an adorable little Christmas tree because I told her we didn’t have one. There is a small amount of the spirit now creeping on over here.

I’m also having a bit of trouble thinking of things to write about at the moment in the first place. Unfortunately as a result, there was no post last week. I just couldn’t think of something worth writing about. So I apologize to those who were expecting something. I am trying to make up for that this week by actually writing something, even if I’m not sure where this is going. Through the week, little things here and there have happened and I think “Oh, maybe I can write about this.” And then it just doesn’t happen because I end up dismissing it as a lame idea or something not so worthwhile as I may have originally thought. This may be something I will have to get over in the future. It could make blogging rather difficult if I don’t. I need to remind myself there is nothing wrong with writing about little things that happen, because they could always turn out to be great things after all.

In other news though, this blog was four years old on Friday. I was too busy and too stressed out to realize it at the time. But happy 4th blogiversary to A Mad Woman with a Box! It’s very exciting, and I am very proud of myself for having kept this blog going for as long as this, even if this is its second incarnation. To celebrate, I am linking to some favourite posts from previous years. Enjoy!

A Trip Out West

I Want to Write

Serenity Back in Theatres!

My Life = Made

 

2 thoughts on “Holiday Spirit… And A Blogiversary

  1. Happy blogiversery! I always love reading your updates (even if you don’t think anything exciting has happened). And I love your blue tree. It’s been well into the 60s and 70s the whole month of December here, which has made for a really disappointing Christmas season. I hope it cools down a little bit and we can see some snow. But you’re right, it just doesn’t feel like Christmas this year.

Leave a Reply

