A Bit of Poetry

I have been muddling all day, in between cleaning and a visit from my Mom, about what to write about for tonight’s post. I just published on Thursday, and I simply just can’t decide. This is hard for me. I wanted to write something amazing for you guys that you would love. I’ve really got nothing. So instead, I’ve decided to finally publish that poem I mentioned a couple of posts ago. I have had a few peers read it and have gotten nothing but good feedback, so I think I am feeling confident enough to share with the world in this personal place of mine. I hope you like it as well:

I feel more free than I have ever felt.
For the first time, I don’t feel the need to put my effort into pleasing others over myself.
I am no longer a slave to what everyone else thinks I should be.
I am me, and I will be the me I choose to be as I move forward.
I will not let someone else tell me what I should think is important, what I should wear, where I should work, what I should do, what I should be.
I will decide what I think is important, what I will wear, where I will work, what I will do, what I should be.
I am me and I am free to be whoever and whatever I want to be.
I know this now.

It’s not much. It’s short. But it’s something I feel I can be proud of. Feel free to let me know what you think in the comments!

One thought on “A Bit of Poetry

Leave a Reply

