Lessons: The Hard Way

I apologize in advance for the onslaught of posts that will be happening tonight.

Today’s Prompt (March 31, 2016): Write about a lesson you’ve learned the hard way.

The most important lesson I’ve learned is that I can’t allow other people to define me. Over the years, specifically in romantic relationships, I have let myself take the backseat to the relationship and significant other. I treated them as much more important than me, as if what I wanted and cared about didn’t matter. All I wanted was for my “other half” to be happy. What I’ve learned, thanks to therapy, friends and generally getting to know myself is I can’t let other people or my relationships define me as a person. I’ve suffered because of it both mentally and emotionally. Most recently, I almost lost myself completely. I was hurting and in a bad place and the person who was supposed to care about me the most wouldn’t hear any of it. It’s now almost eight months later and I know myself better than I ever have, I do my own thing, my friends accept me for who I am, and I’m happy. It’s taken me a long time to get to this point, and sure, I still struggle. But it is a very important and worthwhile lesson, and unfortunately is usually one learned the hard way.

Leave a Reply

