What’s Up on the Gaming Front

I’ve been gaming on my Xbox 360 a lot more lately, and I’ve been enjoying it quite a lot. I have been splitting my time between two games for the most part. The games are: Shadow of Mordor and The Witcher 2. Neither game is particularly new; The Witcher 2 was released in 2012, and Shadow of Mordor was released in late 2014. I’ve been buying my games used due to budgetary limitations, something I love about the 360. $20.00 per game is A LOT nicer than $60.00 or more! I’ve been focusing on console gaming because my laptop is getting on in years (purchased in October of 2009), and though it still works great, it no longer meets the minimum requirements for the PC games I want to play. In that past, I’ve preferred PC gaming, and gamed solely on PC up until my laptop was unable to do the job. These days the console gaming is really growing on me. I’m really loving my Xbox 360 and am now planning to upgrade as soon as  I am able, as I am also planning to do with my PC. THEN I will have the best of both worlds!

In terms of console gaming, Action RPG games seem to be my jam. I have a lot of trouble with first-person shooters because playing them makes me nauseous… Motion sickness or something. The gameplay in The Witcher 2 and Shadow of Mordor is very pleasant in comparison. For a long time, I was afraid I would never be able to play console games! It’s a bit of relief for me that isn’t the case.

I was thinking of reviewing these games and sharing my experiences, but I think I am going to wait until I am finished playing them. I guess I mostly just wanted to share the direction my video gaming has gone lately.


I haven’t been solely playing video games, by the way. In tabletop gaming, I’ve been a lot less busy than I have in the past, but things are starting to pick up again. I’ve introduced some more friends to Cards Against Humanity. Yay! They, of course, knew of the game but had never played it before. It was a great time. I have since bought the first expansion, so the next time I play the game (with whichever friends I end up playing with) things are sure to get interesting. I’m excited that there are blank cards in the expansion so we will be able to add our own if we have some awesome ideas, which WILL happen! I think the regular game nights will be picking up as well. Last weekend I was back at Magic: The Gathering at my friend at her place, involving lots of wine. It felt great to be playing again after what felt like ages. The typical little weird things happened, including her kicking my ass for the first time! img_3086But that wasn’t the really interesting weird thing: We each use a D20 as a life counter, and we roll them to see who goes first when we start our first game of the night. Whoever rolls the highest goes first. This time, we both rolled and on the first we each rolled a 16, so we went again. THIS TIME, we both rolled a 12. It was super strange. Finally, we both rolled a third time and I rolled and 5 and she rolled a 4. Even the third roll was only one number off. It was just strange. It ended up being a great game though, so I really won’t complain about it. I can only hope things are this interesting the next time we get together to play again.

I’ve been talking to some friends and it sounds like game nights will be happening more often overall. I’m looking forward to it. I love having people to play my tabletop games with. I especially love having reasons to expand my collection of games!

 

Leave a Reply

